Ceskolipa Museum is located in the complex of buildings of the former Augustinian monastery in the centre of the town. The monastery was founded in 1627 by Albrecht von Wallenstein. The complex is connected to the single-nave church of All Saints. The construction of the extensive monastery complex took almost 140 years. At the end of the 17th century, the Chapel of Our Lady of Loreto was built, which reopened to visitors after reconstruction in 2000.
The Loreto Chapel is surrounded by an ambulatory with a cloister, chapels in the corners and the Holy Steps. Today, these spaces are used for regular exhibitions. The Chapel of the Holy Trinity with its altar by the Baroque painter Ignaz Joseph Raab is accessible directly from the ambulatory. The chapel is decorated with wooden carvings of the Stations of the Cross from Bezděz. It is used as a concert, wedding and lecture hall and now bears the name of the Baroque composer Ignaz Bieber, born in nearby Stráž pod Ralskem. In one of the former corner chapels of the ambyte, a historic bookbinding workshop is now open, where visitors can see the work of a bookbinder.
The predecessor of the museum was the Excursionsclub, a local history association founded in 1878. The museum's own history began in 1899, when the Museum Society was launched, and the museum opened in 1900. The museum's collection is based on natural history, social science and book collections, which were built up through the activities of local societies and enthusiastic individual collectors - donors to the museum.
Today, nearly half a million objects are cared for by expert staff and the collection is being further expanded and added to. On an area of 2,100 m2 there are 5,400 exhibits on display in the museum's permanent exhibitions.
For more information, visit the museum's website here.
The Ploučnice gorge, also called the Hell's gully or Thunder Wound, is a very interesting technical monument. The hole is an underground drive of a former hammer mill. With its...
Show moreCeskolipa Museum is located in the complex of buildings of the former Augustinian monastery in the centre of the town. The monastery was founded in 1627 by Albrecht von Wallenstein....
Show moreLipý Water Castle was founded in the 13th century, only a part of the castle wall has been preserved. The most famous holder of the castle was Henry of Lipá....
Show moreThe Archaeological Museum of Českolipsko offers several different expositions. A unique speleoarchaeological exhibition is installed in the former town prison, which presents visitors, through finds and pictorial panels, the broad...
Show moreThe newly reconstructed recreational area (2024) on the outskirts of Česká Lípa in the Dubice district offers an outdoor swimming pool with 3 stainless steel water surfaces, mini golf, 3D...
Show moreThe exhibition of the Textile Printing Centre in Česká Lípa is located in the vicinity of the Lipý Water Castle. It offers not only an introduction to valuable historical artefacts,...
Show moreSwimming pool is one of our biggest sports facilities. Not only athletes, but also families with children can enjoy themselves here. You can visit the relaxation zone with whirlpool, hydromassage...
Show moreOn the site of a smaller Gothic fortress, Zdislav Berka had a new castle built in the mid-16th century. On the ground floor there is an interesting chapel of St....
Show moreThe conical hill Ralsko (696 m above sea level) rises 400 m high above the valley floodplain of the Ploučnice River. The peak with steep rocky and rubble slopes is...
Show moreIn Brniště, near the eco-centre, thanks to artists from the Czech Republic and Germany, a place almost magical has been created in a part of the forest - the "Sculptures...
Show moreLemberk Castle was built by rebuilding a medieval castle where St. Zdislava of Lemberk lived and, according to legend, performed miracles. Visitors will be surprised by the rich Baroque decoration...
Show moreA picturesque town dominated by the Macha Lake. You will find here everything that belongs to a proper recreational area: hotels and guesthouses, well-maintained beaches and paths, a Renaissance...
Show moreMáchovo jezero is called a lake, but it is actually a pond. It is the largest pond in North Bohemia. It was founded in 1366 by King Charles IV. There...
Show more